Adhesion Innovation Award

The FEICA/EURADH Award for Innovative Adhesion Science

The FEICA/EURADH Award for Innovative Adhesion Science, which takes place every two years, aims to stimulate the interactions between industrial and scientific activities in adhesion science.

Applications are invited from young researchers and scientists, working in adhesion science in Europe, who have published outstanding work. FEICA and EURADH (biannual European conference on adhesion and related phenomena) launched the first Adhesion Innovation Award (AIA 2018) at the 2017 FEICA European Adhesive & Sealant Conference and EXPO.

The biannual EURADH/FEICA Adhesion Innovation Award is a great opportunity for both EURADH and FEICA to foster ties between industrial and scientific activities and to raise awareness of the outstanding contribution our sector’s innovators make towards a circular economy. Each year, excellent entries from across Europe are submitted.

AIA 2023

website.jpgWe are now receiving applications for the 2023 Adhesion Innovation Award! The application submission period is between 7 November 2022 and 24 March 2023. See the Press Release.

The winner of AIA 2023 will be announced in June 2023 and the Award presentation will take place at the EURADH/WCARP conference in Garmisch-Partenkirchen (Germany) and the FEICA conference in Tarragona (Spain) in September 2023. 

Please see for more information and how to apply!

Past AIA winners:

AIA 2018 was won by Dr René Hensel for his paper on ‘Composite pillars with a tunable interface for adhesion to rough substrates’.

The second EURADH/FEICA Adhesion Innovation Award (AIA 2020) was won by Dr Elisa Arikan for her paper on ‘Structural adhesive bonding of polymers - Surface characteristics and adhesion mechanism’

Synopses of the 2020 entries were published in Issue 40 of FEICA CONNECT.

The 2022 edition of the award was postponed to 2023 due to the COVID.


AIA 2020 winner Dr Elisa Arikan at the 2022 FEICA European Adhesives and Sealants Conference & EXPO in Hamburg, Germany, with AIA 2023 Chair of the Jury Andreas Hartwig, and Kristel Ons, FEICA Secretary General.