The AIA 2020 Award Winner 

The second EURADH/FEICA Adhesion Innovation Award was won by Ms Elisa Arikan for her paper on ‘Structural adhesive bonding of polymers - Surface characteristics and adhesion mechanism’. 

The jury agreed that the impact of Ms Arikan’s paper on the mechanism for good adhesion on a polymer surface is highly relevant for a multitude of applications and industries and that her innovative and fundamental understanding of adhesion was particularly commendable.

Ms Arikan is a PhD student and Research associate at the Universität der Bundeswehr München (“University of the Federal Armed Forces in Munich”) in cooperation with the Bundeswehr Research Institute for Materials, Fuels and Lubricants (WIWeB) in Erding, Germany. Her field of research and dissertation are on ‘Structural adhesive bonding of high performance thermoplastics’. See Press Release.

We are already looking forward to the entries for the next edition, which will be in 2022!

The Adhesion Innovation Award Ceremony and winner presentation is set to take place at FEICA 2021 in Warsaw, Poland and EURADH 2021, in Antibes, France.